His Ocean

Dear god I miss the ocean.  You know that feeling of expecting the water to be cold, and bracing yourself right before you get in? Well I always braced myself before I got in, tightening up all the muscles in my body and breathing just a little heavier. Yet every single time the water was warm, and it shocked my body into this incredible feeling of surprised relaxation.  The water wanted me to be there, even though its vast appearance suggested otherwise.  It seemed as if it never ended and there was too much to try and understand. The ocean was complex and more than I could ever hope to comprehend. Yet we connected. I felt the strength and sadness in each wave. As if it were pushing itself on me, yearning to be held, but retreating into itself as fast as it came. But I felt everything it ever wanted to say, but couldn’t. The ocean didn’t need to tell me about its loss, or how it hurt so may people unintentionally, or how much it craved to learn and discover although it was already wise, or how it wanted me as much as I wanted it. I just knew everything and yet so little about this full yet lonely thing. Each time I submerged myself I gained little tiny pieces, clues to it’s allure and spirit. I left my ocean while on the verge of allowing myself to give back what it had given me. I left knowing that it might not be the same whenever I would get the chance to see it again. I think about my ocean everyday, and how amazing it is that ocean is the only word to describe that boy’s soul. I miss him, and his ocean.

-Pearl

Leave a comment